Always my Friend but Never my Lover

Image

I’m sorry you missed out when I went out for the 1st time,
And you didn’t have me tell you that you were all mine,
I’m sorry you weren’t there to take me to the mall,
And you weren’t there to tell me I have to stand tall,
Sorry you weren’t the one I saw when I came home that day
Or the one I’d run to when I had a bad day,
I’m sorry you didn’t hear me write these, you’d have been so proud,
And you weren’t there to lift me up on a cloud,
Sorry you weren’t there to tell me there’s nothing to fear,
But then again you should have been here,
I’m sorry you weren’t the one to teach me to love,
Or the one who went out with me on the first date.
I’m sorry you weren’t the shoulder to lean on,
That was somebody else, and the one I actually had!
Or the one who held me tight when strength is what I lacked,
I’m sorry you weren’t the one to hold me when I cried,
Or tell me I did great when I really tried,
I’m sorry you were never there to understand,
Or there at night to provide me warmth in cold July,
I’m sorry me as a man is what you never had,
You will always be my friend, but you will never be my lover.

Leave a Reply

